October 2011

Los Angeles Daily New Editor Carolina Garcia has been named editor of two sister newspapers,The Breeze in Torrance and the Long Beach Press Telegram.

Frank O. Sotomayor, a former editor at the L.A. Times, has been inducted into the Stanford University Multicultural Hall of Fame. He earned a master’s degree in communication from Stanford in 1967.

Read more

September 2011

Pablo Pereira, who left KNBC-TV in Los Angeles, has joined Fox 11 in L.A. as weekend meteorologist.

Lolita Lopez joins KNBC-TV as a reporter from WPIX-TV in New York.

Laura Diaz has left KCBS-TV to start her own production company. She will be replaced by Rick Garcia at the 6 p.m. anchor desk on KCBS-TV while continuing to anchor at sister station KCAL-TV.

Cecilia Vega has left KGO-TV in San Francisco to join the Los Angeles Bureau of ABC News.

Antonio Castelan has left CW affiliate San Diego 6 (XETV) to join KNBC-TV in Los Angeles as a reporter.

Bernardo Osuna will comment for both ESPN and ESPN Deportes out of Los Angeles.

Read more

July 2011

Dr. Félix F. Gutiérrez, CCNMA’s first executive director and currently a professor of Journalism at USC Annenberg, has been chosen to receive the 2011 Lionel C. Barrow Jr. Award for Distinguished Achievement in Diversity Research and Education by the Association for Education in Journalism and Mass Communication (AEJMC). which recognizes outstanding accomplishment and leadership in diversity efforts for underrepresented groups by race and ethnicity.

Read more

June 2011

San Francisco’s KDTV Univision News Director Sandra Thomas will add to her duties the newly created position of senior director of local and affiliate news for Univision News.

Marco Flores, a 1992 CCNMA Scholarship winner, has been named the permanent news director at KMEX Univision in Los Angeles.

Read more

2011 CCNMA Scholarship Recipients

Adam Perez
Visalia, CA
USC Annenbeg School for Communication & Journalism/
Columbia University

George Ramos Scholarship

Dayana Contreras
Fresno, CA
Roosevelt High School/
Fresno State University

Frank del Olmo Memorial Scholarship

Gustavo Gutierrez
Long Beach, CA
USC Annenbeg School for Communication & Journalism

Gilbert & Jacki Cisneros Scholarship

Sheila Lopez
Watsonville, CA
Watsonville High School/San Jose State University

Joel Garcia Memorial Scholarship

Bidejefki Marenco
Modesto, CA
San Francisco State University

Felix J. Gutierrez Memorial Scholarship

Eric Ysea
San Diego, CA
Mesa Community College

Read more